Organization

Graduate School for Cellular and Biomedical Sciences

The Graduate School for Cellular and Biomedical Sciences of the University of Bern is jointly administered by the Faculties of Medicine, Science and Vetsuisse.

Members of these faculties form the interfacultary PhD Committee, which is responsible for the strategic orientation, the administration, and the quality control of the PhD program. 

Five Expert Committees with competences in

  • Biological Systems
  • Biomedical Engineering
  • Biomedical Sciences
  • Cell Biology
  • Molecular Biology & Biochemistry

are responsible for the admittance, guidance and evaluation of the PhD candidates. Each research project is assigned to one of the GCB Expert Committees; one of its members acts as mentor to the PhD candidate; together with the supervisor, they decide upon the individual training program of the PhD candidate.

Oliver Mühlemann (Faculty of Science), President
oliver.muehlemann@dcb.unibe.ch

Rupert Bruckmaier (Vetsuisse-Faculty BE)
rupert.bruckmaier@vetsuisse.unibe.ch

Dominik Obrist (Faculty of Medicine)
dominik.obrist@artorg.unibe.ch

Torsten Ochsenreiter (Faculty of Science)
torsten.ochsenreiter@izb.unibe.ch

Petra Roosje (Vetsuisse-Faculty BE)
petra.roosje@vetsuisse.unibe.ch

Frank Stüber (Faculty of Medicine)
frank.stueber@insel.ch

Mario Tschan (Faculty of Medicine)
mario.tschan@pathology.unibe.ch

Marlene Wolf (Coordinator)
marlene.wolf@gcb.unibe.ch

Petra Roosje (Vetsuisse-Faculty BE), Chair
petra.roosje@vetsuisse.unibe.ch

Antoine Adamantidis (Faculty of Medicine)
antoine.adamantidis@dbmr.unibe.ch

Rupert Bruckmaier (Vetsuisse-Faculty BE)
rupert.bruckmaier@vetsuisse.unibe.ch

Andrea de Gottardi (Faculty of Medicine)
Andrea.DeGottardi@insel.ch

Britta Engelhardt (Faculty of Medicine)
britta.engelhardt@tki.unibe.ch

Volker Enzmann (Faculty of Medicine)
Volker.Enzmann@insel.ch

Brigitte Frey (Faculty of Medicine)
brigitte.frey@dbmr.unibe.ch

Daniel Fuster (Faculty of Medicine)
daniel.fuster@insel.ch

Marianna Kruithof-de Julio (Faculty of Medicine)
marianna.kruithof-dejulio@insel.ch

Thomas Lutz (Vetsuisse-Faculty ZH)
tomlutz@vetphys.uzh.ch

Ruth Lyck (Faculty of Medicine)
ruth.lyck@tki.unibe.ch

Ernst Niggli (Faculty of Medicine)
niggli@pyl.unibe.ch

Verena Niggli (Faculty of Medicine)
verena.niggli@pathology.unibe.ch

Torsten Seuberlich (Vetsuisse-Faculty BE)
torsten.seuberlich@vetsuisse.unibe.ch

Jürg Streit (Faculty of Medicine)
streit@pyl.unibe.ch

Deborah Stroka (Faculty of Medicine)
deborah.stroka@dbmr.unibe.ch

Hans Rudolf Widmer (Faculty of Medicine)
hansrudolf.widmer@insel.ch

Dominik Obrist (Faculty of Medicine), Chair
dominik.obrist@artorg.unibe.ch

Lorin Benneker (Faculty of Medicine)
LorinM.Benneker@insel.ch

Philippe Büchler (Faculty of Medicine)
philippe.buechler@istb.unibe.ch

Martin Frenz (Faculty of Science)
martin.frenz@iap.unibe.ch

Bernd Jung (Faculty of Medicine)
Bernd.Jung@insel.ch

Roland Kreis (Faculty of Medicine)
roland.kreis@insel.ch

Laura Marchal Crespo (Faculty of Medicine)
laura.marchal@artorg.unibe.ch

Stavroula Mougiakakou (Faculty of Medicine)
stavroula.mougiakakou@artorg.unibe.ch

Tobias Nef (Faculty of Medicine)
tobias.nef@artorg.unibe.ch

Mauricio Reyes (Faculty of Medicine)
mauricio.reyes@istb.unibe.ch

Raphael Sznitman (Faculty of Medicine)
raphael.sznitman@artorg.unibe.ch

Hendrik von Tengg (Faculty of Medicine)
hendrik.vontengg@insel.ch

Guoyan Zheng (Faculty of Medicine)
guoyan.zheng@istb.unibe.ch

Philippe Zysset (Faculty of Medicine)
philippe.zysset@istb.unibe.ch

Frank Stüber (Faculty of Medicine), Chair
frank.stueber@insel.ch

Guido Beldi (Faculty of Medicine)
Guido.Beldi@insel.ch

Julia Bohlius (Faculty of Medicine)
julia.bohlius@ispm.unibe.ch

Heiner Bollwein (Vetsuisse-Faculty ZH)
hbollwein@vetclinics.uzh.ch

Benjamin Gantenbein (Faculty of Medicine)
benjamin.gantenbein@istb.unibe.ch

Willy Hofstetter (Faculty of Medicine)
willy.hofstetter@dbmr.unibe.ch

Mariusz P. Kowalewski (Vetsuisse-Faculty ZH)
kowalewski@vetanat.uzh.ch

Sarah Longnus (Faculty of Medicine)
sarah.henninglongnus@insel.ch

Daniel Lottaz (Faculty of Medicine)
daniel.lottaz@dbmr.unibe.ch

Nicola Low (Faculty of Medicine)
nicola.low@ispm.unibe.ch

Anna Oevermann (Vetsuisse-Faculty BE)
anna.oevermann@vetsuisse.unibe.ch

Stephan Reichenbach (Faculty of Medicine)
stephan.reichenbach@insel.ch

Gertraud Schüpbach (Vetsuisse-Faculty BE)
gertraud.schuepbach@vetsuisse.unibe.ch

Daniela Schweizer (Vetsuisse-Faculty BE)
daniela.schweizer@vetsuisse.unibe.ch

Walter M. Senn (Faculty of Medicine)
senn@pyl.unibe.ch

Hanno Würbel (Vetsuisse-Faculty BE)
hanno.wuerbel@vetsuisse.unibe.ch

Mario Tschan (Faculty of Medicine), Chair
mario.tschan@pathology.unibe.ch

Charaf Benarafa (Vetsuisse-Faculty BE)
charaf.benarafa@vetsuisse.unibe.ch

Giuseppe Bertoni (Vetsuisse-Faculty BE)
giuseppe.bertoni@vetsuisse.unibe.ch

Stefan Freigang (Faculty of Medicine)
stefan.freigang@pathology.unibe.ch

Siegfried Hapfelmeier (Faculty of Medicine)
siegfried.hapfelmeier@ifik.unibe.ch

Lucy Jane Hathaway (Faculty of Medicine)
lucy.hathaway@ifik.unibe.ch

Thomas Kaufmann (Faculty of Medicine)
thomas.kaufmann@pki.unibe.ch

Georgia Konstantinidou (Faculty of Medicine)
georgia.konstantinidou@pki.unibe.ch

Philippe Krebs (Faculty of Medicine)
philippe.krebs@pathology.unibe.ch

Daniel Legler (Biotechnology Institute Thurgau)
daniel.legler@bitg.ch

Vincent Perreten (Vetsuisse-Faculty BE)
vincent.perreten@vetsuisse.unibe.ch

Carsten Riether (Faculty of Medicine)
carsten.riether@dbmr.unibe.ch

Carlos Ros Bascunana (Faculty of Science)
carlos.ros@dcb.unibe.ch

Matthias Schweizer (Vetsuisse-Faculty Be)
matthias.schweizer@vetsuisse.unibe.ch

Jens Stein (Faculty of Medicine)
jens.stein@tki.unibe.ch

Marcus Thelen (Faculty of Medicine)
marcus.thelen@irb.usi.ch

Stephan von Gunten (Faculty of Medicine)
stephan.vongunten@pki.unibe.ch

Yitzhak Zimmer (Faculty of Medicine)
yitzhak.zimmer@insel.ch

Torsten Ochsenreiter (Faculty of Science), Chair
torsten.ochsenreiter@izb.unibe.ch

Ramanjaneyulu Allam (Faculty of Medicine)
allam.ramanjaneyulu@dbmr.unibe.ch

Rémy Bruggmann (Faculty of Science)
remy.bruggmann@bioinformatics.unibe.ch

Jürg Gertsch (Faculty of Medicine)
juerg.gertsch@ibmm.unibe.ch

Adrian Hehl (Vetsuisse-Faculty ZH)
Adrian.Hehl@uzh.ch

Rory Johnson (Faculty of Medicine)
rory.johnson@dbmr.unibe.ch

Carlo Largiadèr (Faculty of Medicine)
carlo.largiader@insel.ch

Tosso Leeb (Vetsuisse-Faculty BE)
tosso.leeb@vetsuisse.unibe.ch

Peter Meister (Faculty of Science)
peter.meister@izb.unibe.ch

Oliver Mühlemann (Faculty of Science)
oliver.muehlemann@dcb.unibe.ch

Mariusz Nowacki (Faculty of Science)
mariusz.nowacki@izb.unibe.ch

Olivier Pertz (Faculty of Science)
olivier.pertz@izb.unibe.ch

Norbert Polacek (Faculty of Science)
norbert.polacek@dcb.unibe.ch

Isabel Roditi (Faculty of Science)
isabel.roditi@izb.unibe.ch

Sven Rottenberg (Vetsuisse-Faculty BE)
sven.rottenberg@vetsuisse.unibe.ch

André Schaller (Faculty of Medicine)
andre.schaller@insel.ch

Achim Stocker (Faculty of Science)
achim.stocker@dcb.unibe.ch

Volker Thiel (Vetsuisse-Faculty BE)
volker.thiel@vetsuisse.unibe.ch

Christoph von Ballmoos (Faculty of Science)
christoph.vonballmoos@dcb.unibe.ch

Benoît Zuber (Faculty of Medicine)
benoit.zuber@ana.unibe.ch